Brisbane Hockey Schoolboys Cup2017 Competition Highlights - BBC Wins

Brisbane Boys College has won the 2017 Schoolboys Cup. Congratulations!! They defeated St Edmund's College 3 - 1 in the Final on Friday 8th September at the State Hockey Centre. The match was exciting with both teams playing at their best. It was the steady pressure exerted by the BBC team that won the day.

In the play-off for 3rd and 4th it was a case of goals galore! Locked at 6 - 6 at the end of regular time Padua College and Cavendish Road State High then went on to a Penalty Shoot-out. This finally resulted in a win to Padua College over Cav Road of 8 - 7 in the Shoot-out. The final result being 14 - 13 - simply amazing!

You can watch the match on your device by following this link .

2017 BHA Schoolboys Cup Winners - Brisbane Boys College
2017 BHA Schoolboys Cup Highest Goal Scorer - Hayden Michel (St Edmund's College) 2017 BHA Schoolboys Cup Best & Fairest Player - Luke Crudgington (Grace Lutheran College)

2017 Competition

As part of the Brisbane Hockey Association's commitment to growing the game of schoolboys’ hockey in the greater Brisbane area, the Association invited schools to take part in the Brisbane Hockey Schoolboys Cup 2017. The competition, which was started in 2012 has been held each year since in Term 3 (for 10 weeks) at the State Hockey Centre, Colmslie. The main goal is to grow hockey at the school
level and to give boys an opportunity to familiarise themselves with the game and to represent their school. Schools are encouraged to include hockey and non-hockey players in their team.

This year has seen an increased response with a record eight (8) Schools entering a team.  Due to this increased interest and popularity of the competition, games will be scheduled at two (2) venues this year on a Friday afternoon with games starting at 4:15pm. The venues are:

  • State Hockey Centre, 400- 420 Lytton Rd, Colmslie
  • Queensland University Hockey fields, Union Road, St Lucia

2017 Draw & Results

See the " Previous Years " link.

The 2017 Teams!

The list of schools participating are:

  • Brisbane Boys College
  • Indooroopilly State High
  • Padua College
  • Grace Lutheran College



  • St Edmund's College
  • Cavendish Road State High
  • Kelvin Grove State College
  • Marist College Ashgrove

During this competition results were posted regularly on this site. Friends and family were able to keep an eye on the Points Table to see which teams were going to feature in the Finals.
More photos - these from previous years ...

Action from the Brisbane Schoolboys Cup 2014 ...